The new building combines modern architecture with the Lungau building tradition.

The student residence is a few minutes walk from the main square. Through a slight rotation of the buildings to the slope and the use of the terrain levels create differentiated outdoor areas:

1. The public forecourt, which opens to the village, with the access roads, the covered access and the dining room.

2. The natural area on the slope side with shared terrace and areas for leisure, games and sports.

3. The quiet courtyards, which can also be expanded as a heat buffer.

The buildings open on the slope side and reach into the landscape like arms. The basement storey houses all rooms that are to be shared, the ceiling area of which is designed as a communal terrace for both homes. The two floors above form the quiet bed tracts with internal communication zones and intimate courtyard.
The external shading forms the protective shield against summer overheating. The inclusion of the terrain levels and the compactness of the construction ensures cost-effectiveness and energy efficiency. The rooms are grouped around communication zones, which are equipped with Internet, TV and a kitchenette.
Different climatic zones in the building, best insulation and high-quality glazing, as well as the controlled ventilation with heat recovery (about 90%) result in a future-oriented reduction of the energy requirement. Solar collectors and photovoltaic panels were integrated into the southern roof areas.

Address Sauerfelderstraße 87, 5580 Tamsweg

Client Gemeinnützige Salzburger Wohnbaugesellschaft mbH; Land Salzburg Strabag AG

Start of Planning 2010

Start of Construction 2010

Completion 2011

Use 110 beds

Notes 2010 competition, 1st prize EU wide open

GFA 5.191 m²

UFA 4.326 m²

Der Neubau vereint moderne Architektur mit der Lungauer Bautradition.

Das Schülerheim liegt ein paar Gehminuten vom Hauptplatz entfernt. Durch eine leichte Drehung der Gebäude zum Hang und der Ausnutzung der Geländestufen entstehen differenzierte Außenbereiche:

1. Der öffentliche Vorplatz, der sich zum Ort hin öffnet, mit den Zufahrten, den überdachten Zugängen und dem Speisesaal.

2. Der Naturraum hangseitig mit Gemeinschaftsterrasse und Flächen für Freizeit, Spiel und Sport.

3. Die ruhigen Innenhöfe, die auch als Wärmepuffer ausgebaut werden können.

Hangseitig öffnen sich die Baukörper und greifen wie Arme in die Landschaft. Das Sockelgeschoss beherbergt sämtliche gemeinsam zu nutzende Räume, deren Deckenzone als Gemeinschaftsterrasse für beide Heime ausgebildet ist. Die zwei Geschosse darüber bilden die ruhigen Bettentrakte mit internen Kommunikationszonen und intimen Innenhof.
Die außen liegende Verschattung bildet den Schutzschild gegen die sommerliche Überwärmung. Durch die Einbeziehung der Geländestufen und die Kompaktheit der Bauform ist die Wirtschaftlichkeit und Energieeffizienz gewährleistet. Die Zimmer gruppieren sich um Kommunikationszonen, welche mit Internet, TV und einer Teeküche ausgestattet sind.
Unterschiedliche Klimazonen im Gebäude, beste Dämmung und hochwertige Verglasung, sowie die kontrollierte Be- und Entlüftung mit Wärmerückgewinnung (ca. 90%) ergeben eine zukunftsweisende Reduktion des Energiebedarfs. In die südlichen Dachflächen wurden Solarkollektoren sowie Photovoltaikpaneele integriert.

Adresse Sauerfelderstraße 87, 5580 Tamsweg

Auftraggeber Gemeinnützige Salzburger Wohnbaugesellschaft mbH; Land Salzburg Strabag AG

Planungsbeginn 2010

Baubeginn 2010

Fertigstellung 2011

Nutzung 110 Betten

Anmerkungen 2010 Wettbewerb, 1. Preis EU-weit offen

BGF 5.191 m²

NNF 4.326 m²